Race one in Spielberg: Victory for van der Linde as race is abandoned – Stuck duo leads the legends.

Race one in Spielberg: Victory for van der Linde as race is abandoned – Stuck duo leads the legends.

From pole to victory: Kelvin van der Linde won an eventful first race in the Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup in Spielberg. The South African triumphed ahead of Denmark’s Michelle Gatting, who produced another impressive display. Victory for van der Linde takes him to the top of the overall standings in the one-make cup. Third place in race one went to Jordan Lee Pepper from South Africa. The race had to be abandoned before the end following a crash involving Ross Wylie (Great Britain) and Marcel Müller (Austria).

The best of the Legends drivers was Hans-Joachim “Strietzel” Stuck, who finished a remarkable 12th in his Gazprom-Scirocco. The 62-year-old was making his comeback at the Red Bull Ring after a two-year break from racing, and finished three places ahead of his son Johannes (26). The duo joined forces to win the team duel for the Motorsport Allstars against the DTM Legends. Christian Danner (55) came home 19th, while Klaus Niedzwiedz (62) had failed to complete the race.

The second race in the Scirocco R-Cup gets underway at 15:25 on Sunday. The first eight drivers from race one will line up in reverse order, meaning Sweden’s Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky will start her quest for victory from pole position.

“My start was not good and Michelle put me under immense pressure right from the word go. She really surprised both me and Kasper Jensen with her overtaking on the uphill section just after the start. We were involved in a tough, but fair duel throughout the race. I tried to save my permitted uses of the Push-to-pass system for the second half of the race, and that worked well, despite the safety car phases. All in all I am extremely happy with my first victory. It was a new circuit to me, so it was a combination of racing and learning more about the track each lap.”


Position Driver / Nation Category Time Laps
1 Kelvin van der Linde / ZA Pro 18:31.980 10
2 Michele Gatting / DEN Pro 18:36.593 10
3 Jordan Lee Pepper / ZA Junior 18:36.932 10
4 Kasper H. Jensen / DEN Pro 18:37.478 10
5 Ross Wylie / GB Junior 18:38.079 10
6 Manuel Fahnauer / GER Junior 18:38.441 10
7 Nicolai Moller Madsen / DEN Junior 18:39.096 10
8 Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky / SWE Junior 18:41.391 10
9 Lukas Schreier / GER Junior 18:41.884 10
10 Matthias Bäurle / GER Junior 18:43.140 10
11 Victor Bouveng / SWE Junior 18:43.498 10
12 Strietzel Stuck / GER Legend 18:44.467 10
13 Patrick Eisemann / GER Junior 18:44.810 10
14 Kenneth Kröpfl / GER Junior 18:45.291 10
15 Johannes Stuck / AUT Legend 18:46.080 10
16 Michele Di Martino / GER Junior 18:46.646 10
17 Sandeep Kumar Ambalavanan / IND Junior 18:49.580 10
18 Marcel Müller / AUT 18:49.969 10
19 Christian Danner / GER Legend 18:51.080 10
20 Dennis Trebing / USA Pro 19:08.864 10
21 Yann Ehrlacher / FRA Junior 19:20.124 10
Not classified Luca Rettenbacher / AUT Junior 9:07.127 5
Not classified Klaus Niedzwiedz / GER Legend 20:29.831 10

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.