Kelvin to make Australian GT debut in Adelaide

Kelvin to make Australian GT debut in Adelaide

The Australian GT Championship will kick off its season with a 27-car grid as both Audi and McLaren enter factory drivers for the Clipsal 500 weekend.

After Christopher Mies spearheaded Audi’s attack down under for the last two seasons, his factory slot will be taken up by Kelvin van der Linde in Adelaide next week. The 20-year-old will join Geoff Emery – who returns after injuring himself in a crash in Western Australia last season – in the #74 Jamec Pem Audi.

“I am extremely excited to join Jamec Pem for the 2017 season. It has always been on my bucket-list to go an race down under. We go to a lot of great race tracks and street circuits, which will add to the challenge. We will be sharing most race weekends with the V8 Supercars and will join the opening round of the Formula 1 in Melbourne, which is super exciting for me.”

McLaren, meanwhile, has drafted in Blancpain Endurance champion Come Ledogar for Clipsal, the Frenchman reuniting with Tekno Autosports to join Fraser Ross behind the wheel.

Scott Taylor Motorsport will field two Mercedes AMGs, one for Craig Baird and Scott Taylor, and another from Max Twigg, who joins the Mercedes fold after racing a BMW last season.

Twigg will be replaced in the BMW Team SRM entry by James Bergmuller, the Carrera Cup regular making the switch to Australian GT to join Steve Richards in the factory-backed M6.

Tony Bates and Tony Quinn will both race Aston Martins, Bates in a Miedecke Stone car and Quinn in a Darrell Lea car, while Bentley will return to Australian GT with John Bowe and Melinda Price sharing the Heretic Autosport car.

Walkinshaw has also made a change in its line-up, with Liam Talbot to race its Porsche in Adelaide.

Australian GT – Round 1 entry list

# Team Car Drivers
3 Bondi Wholefoods Audi R8 LMS Ash Samadi
4 McElrea Racing Lamborghini R-EX Tim Miles/Jaxon Evans
5 GT Motorsport Audi R8 LMS Greg Taylor/Nathan Antunes
7 Darrell Lea Aston Martin Vantage V12 Tony Quinn
8 Scott Taylor Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3 Max Twigg
9 Hallmarc Constrictios Audi R8 LMS Marc Cini
11 Objective Racing McLaren 650S GT3 Tony Walls
14 Peter Major Lamborghini R-EX Peter Major
18 Heretic Autosport Bentley Continental GT3 John Bowe/Melinda Price
19 Hogs Breath Café/Griffith Corporation Mercedes-AMG GT3 Mark Griffith
23 JBS Australia Lamborghini R-EX Roger Lago/David Russell
24 Miedecke Stone Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage V12 Tony Bates
29 Pirelli/Trofeo Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Jim Manolios/Dean Canto
44 Supabarn Supermarkets Audi R8 LMS James Koundouris/Ash Walsh
48 Interlloy M Motorsport Lamborghini R-EX Justin McMillan/Glen Wood
51 AMAC Motorsport Porsche 997 GT3-R Andrew Macpherson/Brad Shiels
59 Tekno Autosports McLaren 650S GT3 Fraser Ross/Come Ledogar
73 Triffid.Bar.Venue Lamborghini R-EX Michael Hovey
74 Jamec Pem Racing Audi R8 LMS Geoff Emery/Kelvin van der Linde
75 Jamec Pem Racing Audi R8 LMS Steve McLaughlan
100 BMW Team SRM BMW M6 GT3 Steve Richards/James Bergmuller
222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3 Scott Taylor/Craig Baird
777 The Bend Motorsport Park Lamborghini R-EX Yasser Shahin
911 Walkinshaw GT3 Porsche 911 GT3-R Liam Talbot
15 Veloce Motorsport – ULX110 Porsche GT3 Cup Car Keith Wong/Michael Almond
68 Michael O’Donnell Porsche GT3 Cup Car Michael O’Donnell
69 Koala Motorsport Lamborghini R-EX Brenton Griguol/Tim Macrow



1 thought on “Kelvin to make Australian GT debut in Adelaide”

  • Hi Kelvin i wish you all the best for the 2017 season. Be blessed and GOD speed for 2017.
    Will you be racing in Australia all season or do you also do some races in ADAC GT Master series in Europe / Germany.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.